Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Nominations Sought for History Teacher of the Year

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is seeking nominations for the annual National History Teacher of the Year Award, given to the best American history teacher in the United States. The National History Teacher of the Year is chosen from outstanding history teachers in each state, district and U.S. territory. The Illinois History Teacher of the Year will compete for the national award, which is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute, Preserve America and HISTORY (the History Channel).

Nominations for the National History Teacher of the Year can be made by a student, parent, colleague, supervisor (including department head, principal, superintendent, curriculum director), or other education professional familiar with the teacher’s work. State winners receive $1,000 and an archive of books and other resources for their school. Each winner is honored in a ceremony in his or her home state. The national winner receives $10,000.

Elementary school teachers (grades K–6) and middle and high school teachers (grades 7–12) are honored in separate categories in alternate years. The 2014 National History Teacher of the Year Award will honor a middle or high school level teacher.

To nominate a teacher and learn more about the award, visit www.gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy or contact the Gilder Lehrman National History Teacher of the Year coordinator at nhtoy@gilderlehrman.org or (646) 366-9666. You may also contact your state coordinator, Sarah McCusker of the Illinois State Board of Education, at (217) 524-4832 or smccuske@isbe.net.

The nomination deadline is Feb. 1, 2014.

No comments:

Post a Comment