Thursday, April 7, 2016

Dana Butler Selected As 2016 Golden Apple Leadership Award Finalist

Award honors outstanding leadership in Pre-K through 12th grade schools

Golden Apple recently announced the four finalists for the Stanley C. Golder Leadership Award. The award honors the exemplary performance of a Pre-K-12th grade principal or head of school from throughout Chicago and the surrounding suburbs.  
The 2016 Principal and Head of School Finalists include:
  1. Mr. Dana Butler, Irma C. Ruiz Elementary School in Chicago
  2. Mr. Daniel Krause, Willowbrook High School in Villa Park
  3. Dr. Erin Roche, William H. Prescott Elementary School in Chicago
  4. Mr. Mauricio Segovia, Darwin Elementary School in Chicago 
Mr. Dana Butler is a 1998 graduate of Roosevelt's Educational Administration Program, which at the time provided teachers like Mr. Butler with the state certification needed to become a principal.   
The leadership award is presented in memory of Stanley C. Golder, a founding board member of Golden Apple, whose energy, creativity and commitment to Golden Apple’s mission set the highest standard for dedication and accomplishment. Nominated by fellow educators and community members, this year’s finalists have served as principal or head of school at one or more public or non-public schools for five or more consecutive school years.
The selection criteria for the award is based on:
  1. Personal excellence
  2. Balanced and collaborative leadership
  3. Commitment to student achievement
  4. Expertise in curriculum, instruction, and assessment
“There is an obvious vital link between the vitality of a school and the quality its leader possesses,” said Dominic Belmonte, President and CEO of Golden Apple.  “Golden Apple is proud to forward these Golder finalists as sterling examples of excellent school leadership.”
The 2016 award recipient will receive a cash award of $10,000 to be used for his/her own professional development and a school project of the recipient’s choosing. In addition, the winner will be recognized at the Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Leadership annual event on May 20, 2016 and during the broadcast of the televised show on WTTW/Channel 11.  

No comments:

Post a Comment